Books read in 2016

I’ve manged to read 25 books this year! 25!! That’s a damn sight more than the 11 I read in both 2015 and 2014. I’m rather impressed with myself! I love reading but don’t have as much time as I’d like. Travel gives me opportunity to read on all those long bus/ plane/ train journeys.

I think the increase in reading is because I now have a Kindle Paperwhite. It’s so easy to download books and I buy loads that are cheap. I thoroughly recommend them, especially if you’re on the go a lot. It’s a lot easier to carry my kindle around than a pile of books! I also get competitive with myself because it tells you how far through the book you are and how long left. I like to try and beat the times!

I also have Kindle Unlimited which costs £7.99 a month but there’s loads of books you can download for free. All the LJ Ross books below are on it, as are Harry Potter books and most of Lonely Planet’s.

Here are all the books I’ve read this year:

2016-books-12016-books-2

I’m not going to go into detail about all of the books but here’s a few thoughts!

Favourite book – The one that sticks out is Behind Closed Doors by B.A Paris. I read it after a friend of mine raved about it on facebook. It was only 99p so I tried it and I was hooked. I read it in about a day and then recommended it to all of my friends! It’s a psychological thriller that proves you never really know what’s happening behind closed doors. It’s about a couple who from the outside have a perfect marriage and life together but that is far from the truth. There has since been a lot of similar books published and there probably was before (such as Between You and Me by Lisa Hall) but I read this one first and it’s just really stood out for me.

Least favourite book – This is tricky as I didn’t dislike any of the books, but if I had to choose it would probably be Mr Nice by Howard Marks. I found parts of difficult to read and I started to lose sympathy with him by the end. There was a lot of detail such as names and places which just went over my head as there was so much. I find the premise of his story really interesting and he’s had a fascinating life but I just feel this book got a bit monotonous and didn’t do him justice.

Longest book – Without a doubt this was Shantaram by Gregory David Roberts. This book has split readers. People seem to either love it or loathe it. I’m undecided. At nearly 1000 pages it’s a loooong book, but I thought it was good for the first 2 thirds. For me, it went downhill in the Afghanistan part. I can suspend my disbelief, which I did for this book, but that part just went too far. And to say it’s semi-autobiographical, it became a bit too much. I’m still undecided whether I want to read his latest book.

Shortest book Angel by LJ Ross. This book is the fourth in the DCI Ryan series by LJ Ross, the others being Holy Island, Sycamore Gap and Heavenfield. At 293 pages it’s the shortest, but this series has me gripped! I LOVE these books! So much so that I’m planning a trip to Northumberland next year (where these are set) and I’ve already pre-ordered the next one. They are all crime/detective stories and are individual stories but have longer storylines running through them. I definitely recommend these if you like crime/ murder/ detective type books. I downloaded these for free through Kindle Unlimited.

Other highlights of the year:

Patricia Cornwell is my favourite author and I love love love her Kay Scarpetta series. I’ve read all of them and Depraved Heart is part of that series. Everytime I read one , I feel like I’m catching up with old friends and hearing about their next adventures! I got her latest book, Chaos, for Christmas so shall be reading that shortly.

I decided to read Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adiche after reading Adventurous Kate’s blog post last year. It’s about Ifemelu and Obinze who are high school sweethearts in Nigeria but then one moves to America and the other to London. It’s a love story but also about race and class. I really enjoyed it and found it really interesting and have already got Half A Yellow Sun loaded up on my Kindle.

#Girlboss by Sophia Amorusa was inspiring. It made me want to start a business! I love reading about how people get started in business and about their success and struggles.

Currently readingThe Year of Living Danishly by Helen Russell. I’ve only read a couple of chapters so far but it’s making me want to run away to Denmark! It’s about a couple who move from London to Denmark after the husband gets a job working for Lego. Helen (the wife) is a journalist and sets about investigating why the Danes are frequently named the happiest people on earth. Their work-life balance is particularly appealing.

Other books on my To read list for 2017 (there’s a few)

Chaos – Patricia Cornwell

The People v OJ Simpson – Jeffrey Toobin

Half a Yellow Sun – Chimamanda Ngozi Adiche

The Missing – Jane Casey

Victoria – Daisy Goodwin

The Island – Victoria Hislop

The Colour Purple – Alice Walker

Room – Emma Donoghue

The Geography of Bliss – Eric Weiner

Girl with a Lower Back Tattoo – Amy Schumer

What have you read this year? Any recommendations?

 

 

Leave a Reply

