Travel regrets

I don’t like to have regrets, in any aspect of my life. I live by the motto that whatever you choose to do will be the right decision at the time. This is often true when it comes to new jobs, cars, love life etc, but sometimes you do regret the things you didn’t do rather than the things you did. This is certainly more true with my travel regrets. As I said, I don’t like to regret things so I carefully plan trips to try and maximise opportunities and avoid regretting anything. Sometimes, this doesn’t work out and I have ended up with a few things that I wish I’d done differently.

 

Sydney Bridge Climb

bridge-climb

This is something that I ummed and ahhed over for a while, but at over $100, it was a big expense when I was tight on funds. Also, after hearing a description of the bridge climb, I worried that I would struggle due to the problem I have with my hand. With hindsight I should have thought ‘fuck it’ and done it anyway! You only live once and it would have been an amazing experience. I think the fact that Australia is so far away and such a big trip adds to the regret as who knows if I’ll ever head back there. I’d love to!! If I do, the first thing I’m doing is climbing that bridge!

 

Plitvice National Park

On our Croatia trip, we looked at doing a day trip and one of the places we considered was Plitvice. I’ve seen it in many lists, blogs, books, websites and they all talk about how stunningly beautiful it is. I can’t remember why we didn’t go (maybe we just couldn’t be arsed to get up early!) but I now wish we had. Seeing as Croatia isn’t too far away, I will hopefully rectify this in the future.

 

Not appreciating Naples more

I’ve mentioned before how I didn’t really enjoy Naples and that out of all the places I’ve been to, Naples is the one place I really have no desire to return to. I must have read too many horror stories before I went as I just didn’t want to walk around there. I was convinced that we would get mugged! We were there for 3 nights and spent our days visiting places nearby, such as Pompeii and Capri. By the third day I relaxed a little and realised it’s actually not that bad. Yes it’s rough around the edges and you need to take some precautions, but it’s nowhere near as bad as I thought it would it be. I regret not appreciating the city at the time and seeing more of it without walking around in fear. I still have no plans to ever revisit so I am a bit cross with myself for wasting time sat inside as I was too nervous to venture outdoors!

 

This summer

halong-vietnam-hero

I wish now that I’d bit the bullet and booked a solo trip of some sort for the summer just gone. It was so depressing sat at home the entire time, especially when timehop kept reminding me about previous years. I don’t know which trip I wish I’d done, whether that be Thailand or Vietnam & Cambodia or Europe, but I definitely wish I’d done SOMETHING! On the plus side, I watched practically all the Olympics!! I plan on definitely doing something this summer, I just don’t know what yet.

 

Working holiday visa

DSCF2553

Why did I decide to grow up and become an adult? Why did I buy a house and get a full time job? I could have gone travelling and had a year in Australia! I really do love that country! To be fair, this dream only really started in 2013 after I visited. I’d just accepted a permanent job and bought a house, so I couldn’t just up and leave. I turned 30 last year and am about to have my 31st birthday so I literally have days if I want to apply. I was planning on applying this summer, then I got a promotion so that went out the window. I have recently read though that the age limit has extended to 35 so my dream may not be over just yet! I think this would definitely be a death bed regret if I don’t spend more time down under.

 

 

Leave a Reply

