My UK travel wishlist

At the end of 2014 I made it a new years resolution to see more of the UK. A year and a bit later and I’m still working on it! I have managed to visit London, Edinburgh and Newcastle in this time though!

It’s such an amazing and diverse country, with beautiful beaches, buzzing cities and stunning countryside. Not to mention, the history, the culture, the design, the food… I live pretty much in the middle of England, so can reach a lot of places in a few hours.

I really need to take advantage of this more often, so I have compiled a list of places I really want to visit. I haven’t included places I’ve already visited but would love to return to, such as Manchester, Cornwall and London.

Stonehenge

stonehenge

I’ve always been intrigued by this mysterious formation of rocks that have been there for thousands of years. I would love to visit and find out more about the history of them (being a slight history geek)!

Brighton

brighton

Dubbed ‘London by the Sea’, Brighton sounds like a perfect mix of city and seaside, two of my favourite destinations! I think I would want to stay there to be honest! I want to see the quirkiness and creativeness, and witness a British seaside town that might not be completely tacky!

Giants Causeway

giants causeway

A World Heritage site that I’m very keen to visit is Giants Causeway in Northern Ireland. In fact, Northern Ireland is the only UK country that I’ve yet to visit! This needs rectifying asap!

Bath

bath

As a lover of all things Jane Austen, Bath is somewhere I’d love to visit. I’d imagine I was Elizabeth Bennett searching for her Mr Darcy, whilst taking in a Roman bath and afternoon tea. Sounds rather splendid!

Lands End

lands end

Now, I have been to Cornwall but didn’t make it to Lands End. I’d like to visit the edge of England!

Castle Howard

castle howard

I’d like to visit lots of stately homes throughout the UK. Chatsworth House is one of my favourites! I’ve chosen to add Castle Howard, purely because it’s north rather than south!

Scottish Highlands and Loch Ness

loch ness

When I flew to Edinburgh, the Scottish countryside below looked beautiful! I was half tempted to attempt a skydive! Joke! I’d love to do a highlands tour and go in search of Nessie!

Barry Island

barry island

This stems from my love of Gavin and Stacey! I want to go and sit on the beach and keep an eye out for Gavin, Stacey, Smithy and Nessa! Love a bit of British seaside!

Liverpool

liverpool

I do love a city, and Liverpool is a city I’ve not really seen much of! When I lived in Manchester, I told myself I would catch the train and visit for a day, but this never happened! I’d love to see all the Beatles memorabilia!

The Lake District

lake district

I’m heading up to the Lakes in June and am very much looking forward to being stunned by the natural beauty of the area!

Where in the UK would you most like to visit? Is there anywhere else I should add?

 

Leave a Reply

