A new list to use!

As you may know, I have set myself the challenge of seeing 40 countries by the time I’m 40. I’m worrying that this may not be achievable and I still have 10 years to go!

map august 2015

At present, using the UN list of countries, I have visited 17 countries as highlighted above. These include Vatican City, Gibraltar and Malta. I have one more definitely booked in and potentially 2 new countries in the summer.

However, I have discovered a new list to use! The Travellers Century Club. This is a club for people who have visited 100 or more countries. They structure their list differently and consider territories that are removed from the parent country as a separate country, eg Tasmania, Sicily, the Balaerics. Β They have 325 separate countries, compared to the UN’s 195. With this in mind, I think I will be using the Travellers Century Club list from now on for my 40 before 40 challenge. (Their rules also state you can count any visit to a country, even if it’s just a plane fuel stop!)

My new list in Β no particular order:

  • Australia
  • USA
  • Canary Islands (Gran Canaria)
  • Balearic Islands (Menorca & Majorca)
  • Crete
  • Croatia
  • England
  • France
  • Gibraltar
  • Hungary
  • Ionian Islands (Corfu)
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Wales
  • Vatican City
  • Spain
  • Scotland
  • Malta
  • Egypt
  • Abu Dhabi (2 hour stopover, never left the airport)
  • Thailand
  • Singapore
  • Indonesia

This totals 23, so I only have 17 more to go!!

Leave a Reply

