World Heritage Sites visited

As you, my lovely readers know, I love a list and a challenge so I thought I’d compile a list of all the World Heritage Sites I’ve visited.

The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) seeks to encourage the identification, protection and preservation of cultural and natural heritage around the world considered to be of outstanding value to humanity. This is embodied in an international treaty called the Convention concerning the Protection of the World Cultural and Natural Heritage , adopted by UNESCO in 1972.

Quote from UNESCO world heritage website

Basically, World Heritage Sites are sites across the globe that have been given status as a ‘world heritage site’. There are certain criteria but once they have this status, they are protected and will be preserved. (This is my basic understanding so please correct me if I’m wrong!)

According to UNESCO’S websiteΒ (please see for complete list)Β there are 1007 sites at present. Some are natural, some are man made, some are cultural, some are in danger.

Here are the ones I have visited by country.

Australia

  • Great Barrier Reef
  • Uluru National Park
  • Wet Tropics of Queensland
  • Fraser Island
  • Greater Blue Mountains Area
  • Sydney Opera House
136

The Blue Mountains

cropped-42.jpg

Fraser Island sunset

France

  • Paris, Banks of the Seine

Holy See

  • Historic centre of Rome
  • Vatican City
DSCF1308

The Vatican

Italy

  • Historic centre of Rome
  • Historic centre of Florence
  • Piazza del Duomo, Pisa
  • Venice and it’s Lagoon
  • Historic centre of Naples
  • Historic centre of Siena
  • Archaeological areas of Pompeii
Colosseum

Colosseum – Rome

DSCF3111

Florence

DSCF2899

Venice

UK

  • Cornwall and west Devon mining landscape

USA

  • Everglades National Park
  • Grand Canyon National Park
  • Statue of Liberty
  • Yosemite National Park

Wow! I’ve only seen 21! That’s pathetic! I’m particularly embarrassed about how little of the UK I’ve visited! There’s also countries I’ve been to where I couldn’t even tick anything off.

I’m not going to set myself a challenge to see a certain number in a time period, but what I am going to do is make more effort to find out about world heritage sites as and when I plan new trips. I definitely need to add more to my ‘seen it’ list!

The city of Budapest is listed so that’ll be another one that I’ve seen! Hopefully I’ll get to see a few more this year!

Which have you seen? Which are your favourite?

Leave a Reply

