A beautiful corner of England

One of the things I love about the UK is that it’s so diverse. You can visit metropolitan cities, glorious countryside, beautiful beaches and coastline, lush, green forests and we even have a Riviera (of sorts!).

Cornwall definitely defines beautiful beaches! Tucked away in the south west corner of England, Cornwall has plenty to offer. It’s always been a popular holiday destination with domestic tourists due to the coastline, fairly good weather for the UK and being popular for surfing. It’s the only place in England I know of where people go to surf. Many UK residents will holiday there year after year. The county is surrounded almost entirely by water and has over 300 miles of coastline.

cornwall 2

Part of the Cornish coast

cornwall 1

Lundy Bay

cornwall

Different angle & filters! Lundy Bay

During the summer, I went on my first family holiday in years and spent a week in a rented cottage near the town of Polzeath, about a 20 minute drive from Padstow. It was such a great location as there were many places of interest to visit close by. We visited Polzeath (whilst David Cameron was there!), Tintagel, Bodmin, Port Isaac, Boscastle and tried many times to get a parking spot in Padstow! It was crazy busy!

cornwall4

Polzeath beach (David Cameron is probably somewhere in this picture!)

cornwall5

Cute house in Boscastle

My favourite place was probably Port Isaac. It’s where they film Doc Martin so the whole village is easily identifiable. Admittedly, I’d never watched the show before I visited so my mission to find his house was a slight challenge but I just followed the crowd and used google images to help me!

cornwall3

Doc Martin’s house

cornwall2

Port Isaac

Obviously, no trip to Cornwall is complete without a cream tea and a Cornish pastie! I think I ate my body weight in clotted cream and scones!! Beautiful! The best Cornish pastie I had was from Pengennas in Tintagel. The queue is down the street but totally worth it!

cornwall pastie

Pengennas pastie – yum!

Leave a Reply

