Books I’ve read this year

Now I know this is a travel blog so why am I writing about books? 1. I want to, 2. travelling gives me an opportunity to read more than I would in my everyday life. This summer I had several hours of plane, train and car journeys to fill so I read. A lot!

I don’t read as much as I’d like so I set myself the challenge of reading 12 books in 2014, 1 per month. I managed to read 11. I’m on my 12th if that counts!

Here’s what I read…

2014 booksGone Girl by Gillian Flynn                                                                                                                                                      I jumped on the bandwagon with this one. It was the THE book to read at the end of last year and I love a good murder/ mystery/ thriller type book. I wanted to read it before the film came out. I enjoyed it, I liked how it was written from different perspectives and there’s a bit of a twist which you discover waaay before the end. It’s made me want to read her other books which I’ve been told are better than Gone Girl.

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green                                                                                                                                   Another one that was hyped up but I LOVED this book! A proper weepy one. Tissues definitely needed. Easy to read (I think it’s aimed at teenagers). Again, a bit of a twist which was different from what I was expecting. Definitely recommend!

Inferno by Dan Brown                                                                                                                                                           Personally I always enjoy Dan Brown’s books. Yes they can be a bit far fetched and everything works out very conveniently but that’s the joy of reading. It’s make believe, fiction, you’re supposed to suspend your disbelief! I read this over the summer whilst travelling round Italy so it became our point of reference for Florence and Venice! Everything related back to Inferno. Enjoyable if you like Angels & Demons and The Da Vinci Code.

How to Fall in Love by Cecelia Ahern                                                                                                                                     I have a bit of a love/hate relationship with Cecelia Ahern books. Some I love and others I’ve detested. It got to the point where I stopped reading her books because I found them either too ridiculous or just boring. However, I thought I’d give this one a go. I’m pleased I did. This book was sweet and much better than her previous ones (not including Where Rainbows End, that’s one of my favourites!)

Dust by Patricia Cornwell                                                                                                                                                    Patricia Cornwell is my favourite author ever! I seriously love her books and think I’ve read them all. Her early books are fab then she took a bit of a dip about 10 years ago when she changed her writing style but I think the series now back to its best. Brilliant writer and I love that she has worked in forensic science which helps her writing. The attention to detail is fab! For me, reading a Patricia Cornwell book is like catching up with old friends, I’ve been reading them that long! I would recommend this and all her other books to anyone.

The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion                                                                                                                                  I LOVED  this book!! This was probably my favourite book that I read this year. It was sweet and kinda romantic but also hilarious at the same time. It caused me to laugh hysterically many times! The main character reminded me of Sheldon from The Big Bang Theory but with an interest in forming relationships. Highly recommended!!

Love, Lies and Lipstick by Katie Price                                                                                                                               Please don’t judge me! Katie Price’s biographies are always easy to read and make perfect holiday fodder! She’s always got a drama to talk about! There’s nothing groundbreaking or original in here but if you like Katie Price or want to know the ins and outs of her life (ie are nosey!) then give it a try!

The Lemon Grove by Helen Walsh                                                                                                                                        This was another holiday read. It was set in Majorca so helped with the holiday vibe! I didn’t love this book, found the main character stupid and had no sympathy with her. In fact I didn’t like any of the characters really. I don’t know if that was the point? Again, it was an ok book, didn’t love it but didn’t hate it either.

Churchill’s War Lab by Taylor Downing                                                                                                                               This is definitely not the kind of thing I usually read! It was my friends book and I borrowed it because I’d ran out of things to read in Italy! I was surprised by how much I did enjoy it and how much I learnt! I had no idea that we were very close to losing WW2. Churchill loved a good fight and we probably wouldn’t have won the war if he wasn’t in charge at that time. It’s hard going and very wordy so probably only for those interested in WW2 or Chuchill.

A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Housseini                                                                                                           Another book that I was surprised by how much I enjoyed it. I bought it in Florence because I’d ran out of books and this sounded semi interesting! Housseini is a fantastic storyteller! I read it in about 2 days and it had me bawling my eyes out at one point. Set in Afghanistan, it can be quite dark but wonderfully written. I’m now reading his other books!

I’ll Take New York by Miranda Dickinson                                                                                                                           To finish the year, I read a bit of chick lit. I used to hate these fluffy, romantic books but I’ve grown into them and this is one of the better ones I’ve read. Also helps that it’s set in New York which scores massive points with me! If you like books by people like Sophie Kinsella or Lindsay Kelk, you’ll probably like this. Predictable but a good read.

I also started Longbourn by Jo Baker but just couldn’t get into it. I’ll try it again next year!

I’m currently reading And the Mountains Echoed by Khaled Housseini as I loved A Thousand Splendid Suns.

What have you read this year? Do you have any recomendations? 

Leave a Reply

