50 Things to do before you die

ANOTHER LIST!???!!! I hear you cry!

Yes we all know I love a good list and I’ve found ANOTHER travel related one that caught my attention. This one is from The Matador Network website.

After reading it, I’m not entirely sure I need or want to do all the things on this list. I think so far I’ve only done 1! But I enjoy a challenge and it can give me yet more things to aspire towards!

  1. Set foot on each of the seven continents – This I want to do! Just got South America and Antarctica to go!
  2. Cross a country on a bike
  3. Ride something bigger than a horse
  4. Live like a local for a month
  5. Visit a ‘real’ Blues bar in Chicago
  6. Learn another language – I can speak a bit of French, know a few Italian phrases and can say hello in several languages, does this count?
  7. Going heli skiing
  8. Travel India by train
  9. Climb one of the world’s seven summits
  10. Dive with a whale shark
  11. Participate in Carnival in Brazil
  12. Dance a tango in Argentina (preferably with an incredibly hot man!)
  13. Surf
  14. Scuba the Great Barrier Reef
  15. Publish an article about your travels – does my little blog count?
  16. Volunteer abroad for a month
  17. Follow in the footsteps of your favourite travel book
  18. Take a bush plane ride into Africa’s interior
  19. Cross a glacier on foot
  20. Visit the source of one of the world’s great rivers
  21. Climb an active volcano – check! Mt Vesuvius!
  22. Buy a boat and learn to sail
  23. Follow your food from field to table
  24. Bathe in the Ganges
  25. Travel around the world
  26. Photograph an endangered species
  27. Participate in Burning Man
  28. Spend 24 hours alone in the jungle
  29. Learn how to make a national dish – any suggestions?
  30. Teach English in a foreign country
  31. Attend a music festival in another country
  32. Cross a country using only public transport – I’m saying my trip in Italy – Milan – Venice – Florence – Naples – Rome by train
  33. Spend the night in an historic hotel
  34. Attend the Olympics
  35. Meet your favourite (travel) writer – I’m making the word ‘travel’ optional
  36. Travel to Germany to experience Love Parade
  37. Partake in a Japanese tea ceremony
  38. Join a caravan in the Sahara
  39. Go to Oktoberfest
  40. Stand at the North or South Pole
  41. Be in the stands when two rival South American football teams compete
  42. Visit the birthplace or grave site of a cultural icon
  43. Find your version of ‘The Beach’
  44. Enjoy a freshly rolled cigar in Cuba
  45. Visit every capital city in Europe – I can see this being another one of my personal lists/challenges!
  46. Watch an orchestral performance in Vienna
  47. Skydive
  48. Bike the Pacific Coast Highway
  49. Shake hands with someone who has truly changed a country
  50. Participate in Songkran

How many can you tick off? What would be on your list?

One thought on “50 Things to do before you die

Leave a Reply

