The best thing I did in Florence

I’ve visited Florence several times before and fell in love with it. The red brick rooftops, the exquisite duomo, the crazy nightlife… It was my kind of city.

However, this year, I didn’t love it! I understand that it was August and peak season but I have previously visited in August and do not remember the crowds being as bad! You honestly could not move. It was ridiculous!

Having said that, one of my favourite things that I did on the whole trip was in Florence. Even better, it was free!

It’s nothing ground breaking or unusual. It was something thousands of tourists do every day…

I’m a sucker for a view! The higher up, the better! Mountains, waterfalls, churches, rooftops… You name it, I’ll climb it if I think the view is going to be spectacular. One of the standout moments in Rome for me was climbing to the top of St Peters Basilica and likewise in Florence, a mindblowing view was quite possibly the best thing I did.

If you haven’t guessed already, I’m talking about the view from Piazzale Michaelangelo. I’m not kidding when I say it really is one of the best views I’ve ever witnessed. Incredible!

Michaelangelo Square (as it’s known in English) is well known for having an amazing panoramic viewsΒ over the whole city and many images from here have been reproduced on postcards, books and posters over the years. The square was built in 1869 by architect Giuseppe Poggi and is named after the famous Renaissance sculptor whose works are famously displayed throughout the city.

It’s about a 15 minute walk from the city centre and up a hill (ugh) but totally worth it! It’s actually a really nice walk from the centre as you have to cross the Arno River and get fab views of Ponte Vecchio and the Ufizzi. It’s located in the Oltarno area of the city. You also walk past street artist Clet’s studio and pass a whole bunch of his cool street signs! You could also catch a public bus or drive but I enjoy walking round cities.

It would be amazing to be there for sunset and see the city in day and night. We went too early for that, we would’ve bored after more than half an hour of waiting around!

DSCF3104

The view part way up

DSCF3106

Part way up the hill!

My photos of the stunning view:

DSCF3111

The obligatory ‘I was really here, honest!’ photo

DSCF3112

THE view

DSCF3115

Further along the river with Santa Croce to the left

DSCF3117

A slight zoom in on the duomo

We even went one better and walked further up the hill toΒ San Miniato al Monte, a beautiful little church. It’s said to be one of the oldest in Tuscany, dating back to 1013.

DSCF3121

The view even higher up!

DSCF3122

San Miniato al Monte

DSCF3123

Beautiful views

DSCF3124

From San Miniato al Monte

Where do you think the best view of Florence is? What’s the best view you’ve experienced?

Leave a Reply

